Our Team

Nancy Reese

Nancy Reese

As co-founder and partner, Nancy provides strategic counsel and client service and directs the company’s creative team.

nancy@akoyaonline.com

Holly Wray

Holly Wray

As president and partner, Holly oversees Akoya business and financial operations, client contracts, and resource allocations.

holly@akoyaonline.com

Genna Cavanaugh

Genna Cavanaugh

As partner, Genna leads client accounts, provides creative input across the company and applies her background in journalism and technical writing to produce compelling content for government and corporate clients.

genna@akoyaonline.com

Jennifer Benitz

Jennifer Benitz

Jennifer, an experienced writer with a background in online and print media covering local and military-related news, provides assistance in the creation of written content and photography.

jennifer@akoyaonline.com

 Tommy Benz

Tommy Benz

Tommy Benz is a certified Project Management Professional in program management and business development. He brings 10 years of experience to maintaining client relationships and building industry partnerships in Washington, D.C.

tommy@akoyaonline.com

Annie Brown

Annie Brown

A detail-oriented writer and editor, Annie supports the Health Resources and Services Administration’s Workplace Partnership for Life program and leads Akoya’s social media outreach.

annie@akoyaonline.com

Sarah Cornelius

Sarah Cornelius

Sarah’s expertise includes editorial review, concise summation, project management, information structuring, and quality control.

sarah@akoyaonline.com

John Davis

John Davis

John is a U.S. Air Force veteran and strategic communications expert with extensive broadcast, print, and online experience in managing and producing news and public affairs coverage.

jdavis@akoyaonline.com

Tara Dunfee

Tara Dunfee

Tara offers broad national experience in the planning, management, and delivery of high-level strategic outreach and communications operations.

tara@akoyaonline.com

Neal Fisher

Neal Fisher

Neal, a retired Marine, holds a Project Management Professional (PMP) certification and brings extensive career experience in public affairs, including expertise in strategic planning and communications, crisis communications, and reputation management.

neal@akoyaonline.com

Peter Graves

Peter Graves

Peter provides expert communications counsel to clients and senior leaders, specializing in media relations, crisis communications, strategic communications, speechwriting, web development, and public relations.

peter@akoyaonline.com

Wendy Graves

Wendy Graves

Wendy provides textual and technical acuity to client communication objectives for various platforms, including print, web, video, and interactive media.

wendy@akoyaonline.com

 Sue Klima

Sue Klima

Sue manages Akoya’s administrative operations, including information systems, purchasing, and equipment.

sue@akoyaonline.com

 Angelica Lopez

Angelica Lopez

With extensive civilian experience in military public affairs and community relations, Angelica serves the Air Force Medical Service as a communications planner.

angel@akoyaonline.com

 Karen Marchese

Karen Marchese

Karen provides strategic client counsel and creative direction for coordinated communications—from web and print to event planning and exhibits, speeches, articles, presentations, and video.

karen@akoyaonline.com

Robert Matzen

Robert Matzen

An award-winning film producer and a published author, Robert leads Akoya’s video production business.

robert@akoyaonline.com

Karen Oleyar

Karen Oleyar

Karen contributes to Akoya’s business development and marketing efforts, building strategic partnerships with industry and agencies.

koleyar@akoyaonline.com

Amy Oriss

Amy Oriss

Amy specializes in details, from meticulous quality control to tracking complex client projects through final deliverables.

amy@akoyaonline.com

Carrie  Petershagen

Carrie Petershagen

An expert in health care marketing and communications with more than 16 years’ experience, Carrie is skilled at making technical content appeal to a wide range of audiences.

carrie@akoyaonline.com

Robert Sens

Robert Sens

With degrees in journalism and law and extensive experience in defense intelligence, communications planning, and management, Robert directs the communications planning efforts of our team of experts at the Defense Health Agency.

rsens@akoyaonline.com

 Dan Sperling

Dan Sperling

Dan is an accomplished writer whose experience spans feature articles, reports, web content, fact sheets, news briefs, press releases, editorials, brochures, books, newsletters, and advertising copy.

dan@akoyaonline.com

Laura Stassi

Laura Stassi

A published author of nonfiction books, Laura relies on her years of experience writing for military publications to develop engaging stories for our Department of Defense, Defense Health Agency contract.

laura@akoyaonline.com

 Katie Walker

Katie Walker

A skilled communications strategist with expertise in public relations, media, and digital strategies, Katie helps the Defense Health Agency keep its millions of beneficiaries up to speed on their health plan options.

katie@akoyaonline.com

Matt Whiting

Matt Whiting

Matt assists Akoya’s business development team and leverages his campaign experience to help the Military Health System with strategic outreach and planning.

matt@akoyaonline.com

Amelia Williams

Amelia Williams

Amelia’s diversified skill set includes a practiced design eye and the ability to manage heavy production workloads.

amelia@akoyaonline.com

 Thearon Williams

Thearon Williams

Thearon’s (T’s) concentration on achieving organizational goals through development and integration of plans, strategy, policy, and operations is anchored in almost three decades of service in the U.S. Army and extensive skills in solving complex, multi-disciplinary challenges.

twilliams@akoyaonline.com

Sofie Wray

Sofie Wray

Sofie balances a seasoned sense of joie de vivre with a dignified demeanor and mature attitude that promotes calm and gratitude among clients and staff.

sofie@akoyaonline.com

Contracting with us

Federal agencies can contract for Akoya services through the U.S. General Services Administration, under GSA professional Services Schedule (PSS), Akoya Contract No. GS-00F-162CA. See our capabilities. Interested in a sole-source contract with a woman-owned small business  (WOSB) or an economically disadvantaged WOSB? See How to Sole Source Akoya.

Commonwealth agencies and suppliers can contract for Akoya services through the Department of General Services under Creative Services Schedule 4400008677, Akoya Contract No. 440014970.  PA eMarketplace
 
Akoya services fall within these NAICS codes:

Awards

Disruptive Health Technology Institute at Carnegie Mellon University

2015 Communicator Award of Distinction, Nonprofit Annual Report

2015 Communicator Award of Distinction, Annual Report Copy/Writing

U.S. Department of Energy

2014 Communicator Award of Distinction, Video, for “Transforming the Lighting Landscape: L Prize PAR38 Competition”

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs

2014 Communicator Award of Excellence, Integrated Campaign for Social Responsibility, for “Rethink Veterans”

2012 VA Certificate of Appreciation for exceptional services

2012 Bronze Telly for “You Served, You Deserve”

2010 VA Ace Achievement Award for “Health Campaign Poster Series”

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

2014 PR Daily’s Nonprofit PR Award, Best Membership/Recruiting Campaign, for WPFL Hospital Organ Donation Campaign

2012 Communicator Award of Excellence, Video, Motivation, for “Let Life Bloom”

2012 Communicator Award of Excellence, Video, Recruitment, for “Let Life Bloom”

NASA

2005 New York Festivals Finalist Award (Government) for “Dreams of Aviation”

2005 Bronze Telly Award (Government Relations) for “Dreams of Aviation”

2005 Gold Aurora Award (Convention/Exhibition) for “Dreams of Aviation”

2005 Gold Aurora Award (Aerospace) for “Dreams of Aviation”

2005 Silver Crystal Vision Award (Aviation) for “Dreams of Aviation”